An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | Aug. 18, 2022

NSWC Dahlgren Division Aegis Team Named as a Winner of the 2022 3rd Quarter PEO IWS Excellence Awards

By NSWCDD Corporate Communications

Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA) and Program Executive Office Integrated Warfare Systems (PEO IWS) senior leadership selected the Aegis Baseline (BL) Team from Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD) as recipients of the 2022 3rd Quarter PEO IWS Excellence Awards.

The Aegis BL Team consists of 14 civilian government employees supporting two NSWCDD departments: Steven Heitmeyer from the Electromagnetic and Sensor Systems Department and Matthew Brown, Julia Chase, Wallace Davis, Matthew Eak, Phillip Hall, Erin Hensley, Winford Hill, Shannon Johnson, Stefanie Keller, Michael Newkirk, Lecia Rhodes, Derrick Sears and Carly Torisky from the Integrated Combat Systems Department.

The team received recognition for their technical work regarding “analyzing Live Fire with a Purpose data from a U.S. Navy destroyer and uncovering correlation anomalies in the baseline software,” according to the award citation.

Performing beyond expectations, the team developed a test plan and scenario to conduct a retest event after identifying detrimental interoperability computer program anomalies. The team’s test plan involved retesting in a land-based test site environment to isolate the issues.

Additionally, the team is attributed to operating at a high level as well as expediting delivery of the computer program to multiple Aegis BL ships with proper documentation and within the requirement process.

The PEO IWS Excellence Awards are presented to individuals and teams across NAVSEA warfare centers in recognition of innovation and improvements efforts in several areas: product quality, technical development, cost control and schedule acceleration, organizational efficiency and process improvement in support of PEO IWS programs.

During the PEO IWS All Hands meeting Aug. 18, Rear Adm. Seiko Okano presented the Aegis BL Team with the PEO IWS Excellence Award.

Congratulations to the NSWCDD Aegis BL Team on their outstanding achievements in supporting the fleet.