Home : Home : Warfare Centers : NSWC Panama City : ED and I : Equal Employment Opportunity : SEP

Equal Employment Opportunity,

Diversity & Inclusion Office


Accordion Menu


Special Emphasis Programs (SEPs) are an integral part of Equal Employment Opportunity. The purpose of these programs is to ensure that agencies take affirmative steps to provide equal opportunity to minorities, women and people with disabilities in all areas of employment. The term, "Special Emphasis Programs," refers specifically to employment related programs which focus special attention on groups that are conspicuously absent or underrepresented in a specific occupational category or grade level in the agency's workforce.

The goals of the Special Emphasis Program include:

  • Improve employment and advancement opportunities for minorities, women, and people with disabilities in the Federal service
  • Identify systemic barriers to opportunity for minorities, women, and people with disabilities
  • Seek ways to help minorities, women, and people with disabilities to advance by using their skills more fully
  • Monitor agency progress in eliminating discrimination and adverse impact on minorities, women, and people with disabilities in employment and agency programs
  • Educate Federal employees and managers about the extent of various forms of discrimination within the Federal Service

Special Observances are conducted to recognize the continuous achievements of all Americans to American culture and to increase awareness, mutual respect, and understanding. They are designed to enhance cross-cultural and cross-gender awareness and promote harmony among all military members, their families, and the NSWC PCD civilian workforce.

Special Observances include:

  • Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday (January 18th)
  • Black History Month (February)
  • Women's History Month (March)
  • Days of Remembrance and Holocaust Remembrance Day (vary each year according to the Hebrew calendar)
  • Asian American/Pacific Islander Heritage Month (May)
  • LGBTQ Pride Month (June)
  • Women's Equality Day (August 26th)
  • National Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15th to October 15th)
  • National Disability Awareness Month (October)
  • National American Indian Heritage Month (November)