An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | July 26, 2022

NSWCDD employees earn NAVSEA Warfare Centers Awards

By NSWCDD Corporate Communications

The Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA) Warfare Centers Awards program recognized two individuals and 39 team members from the Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD) as winners of the 2022 NAVSEA Warfare Centers Awards. The program honors individuals and teams with an emphasis on efforts with a broad scope that made a substantial impact.

NSWCDD employees Jasen Moran and Bryan Reddan earned the Knowledge Sharing Award and the Technical Support Services Award, respectively.

The NAVSEA Warfare Center recognized Moran for leading 27 members of the NAVSEA Red Team in training development and implementation. He mentored others and increased their understanding of cybersecurity risks and the subsequent possibility of mission and program success in a contested cyber environment.

Reddan earned recognition by successfully leading and directly contributing to numerous engineering initiatives supporting program planning, development and execution of a successfully delivered Next Generation Integrated Digital Environment product in August 2021.

The 2022 NAVSEA Warfare Centers also recognized four teams.

The John C. Mickey Award for Collaboration went to CVN 78 Full Ship Shock Trial Team members Isidro Pride and Ronald Hunt for executing three underwater explosive shock tests on USS Gerald R. Ford (CVN 78). Collaboration between NSWC Carderock, Philadelphia, Dahlgren, Port Hueneme and NUWC Keyport Divisions during this complex and high visibility testing and evaluation event was a key factor in meeting all test objectives efficiently and effectively while meeting all environmental and safety requirements.

The Surface-to-Surface Mission Module Cross-Deck Team also received the John C. Mickey Award for Collaboration. Team members Brett Affholter, Steven Campbell, Christopher Owens, Robert Santiago, Matthew Sharps and Douglas Wynings completed the first-ever cross-deck move of a mission module on the LCS Class. The move was completed in challenging circumstances to provide a new capability to a deploying battle group.

The NAVSEA Red Team earned the Information Security Award for lasting and impactful contributions to the cybersecurity readiness of the U.S. military. The team identified critical vulnerabilities and recommended engineering solutions to strengthen the security posture and cyber survivability of customer networks and systems in service to the warfighter.

The following NAVSEA Red Team members received the honor: Moran, Sara Hart, Kolby Hoover, John Jims, Christopher Keener, Jeremy Roehm, Anna Malyevac, David Barnes, Valeria Bokay, Neil Carter, Derek Howard, Malik Hurt, David McDuffie, Tyler Perdue, Frank Pittaluga, Tim Raidl, James Taylor, David Trick, David Uittenbogaard, Kristopher Walker, Justin Wasileski and Reed Williams.

The Knowledge Sharing Award went to the Project Babel Team of Francie Baker, Ed Cerasuolo, Meagan Field, Peter Gilbert, Michael McErlean, Andrew Morgan, Jonathan Stickley, Mark Ulep and Keith Yellin for their technical contributions to the Fleet Ballistic Missile Weapons System program. The team reestablished dormant capabilities that reduced errors, increased accuracy and drastically reduced the schedule that will be required for the MK7 reentry system.