An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | April 15, 2022

NSWC Dahlgren Division Employees Receive First Quarter 2022 PEO IWS Awards

By NSWCDD Corporate Communications

Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD) leads the way in innovating new technologies while improving upon existing platforms. The fiscal 22 First Quarter Program Executive Office Integrated Warfare Systems (PEO IWS) Excellence Awards recognize 45 NSWCDD scientists and engineers from eight individual teams for their exemplary work. Congratulations to the teams for their extraordinary efforts in cost control, organizational efficiency, product quality, process refinement, schedule acceleration and technical innovation.

The Common Data Repository (CDR) Team received the award for their achievements in designing, fielding, and activating the CDR system for the Integrated Warfare Systems Laboratory and Surface Combat System Center (SCSC) Wallops Island. CDR dramatically reduces file transfer times between Land Based Test and Training Sites. The system also makes data more accessible by providing users with indexed and searchable storage. Congratulations to David Emerson, Brandis Matthews, Michael Murphee, Jeffrey Shaffer, Ted Southard, James Sullivan and Jimmie Williams on a “job well done.”

The AN/SQQ-89(V) In-Service Engineering Agent Team coordinated and completed multiple hardware repairs and upgrades simultaneously. Their mission included resolving failure in the AN/UYH-2(V) system while also handling the repair of a cruiser for deployment and ensuring its ability to pass its Anti-Submarine Warfare certification. According to the citation, “this herculean team effort continued with team members dispersed across the country.” Their work required coordinating with numerous other groups and involved sourcing parts from all over the country. The award recognizes Anthony Bayles, Thomas Callahan, Wayne Dancause, Dustin Hoover and Hiro Johnson. 

The following citation states, “the Enhanced Collection System (ECS) Development and Installation Team performed exceptionally to accomplish the first shipboard installation of the ECS in the USS Ramage (DDG61).” ECS is a real-time collection system that enables greater capture abilities for the AN/SPY-1 Radar and AEGIS LAN Interconnect System. The system provides greater data visibility for manipulation or analysis by the warfighter. The team accomplished their task and certification processes despite restrictions caused by the pandemic. Team members named in the award are Keel Anthony, Tonya Bussler, Brian Bylicki, Desmond Ellsworth, Justin Hall, Zachary Mohle, Stacy Neel, Jordan Whitesell and James Costello. 

John Morris receives recognition for his work on the Long Endurance Electronic Decoy team. By improving the process of Other Transaction Agreement contract awards, the team reduced the amount of time necessary to process several complex contract proposals. Their efforts saved time and money and allowed the Program Startup Review to happen only one month later. 

For the first time, the High Energy Laser Integrated Optical-Dazzler and Surveillance Field Developmental Test Team completed land-based testing at SCSC. The team worked tirelessly to build this project from the ground up and safely run the event while gathering valuable new data. The citation declares, “Their dedication to this event paves the way for new and improved versions of high-energy laser systems, delivering the utmost capability to the fleet.” Congratulations to Luke Loukas and Petty Officer 1st Class James Martin for their exceptional work. 

According to this citation, “a heartfelt thank you for their dedication, ingenuity, and hard work in accomplishing the mission” goes to the Naval Integrated Fire Control (NIFC) Live Fire Test #8 Team for the successful first-of-its-kind NIFC Live Fire Test event during the U.S. Army’s Project Convergence 21 event in New Mexico. Using a U.S. Marine Corps TSP-80 Ground/Air Test Orientated Radar, the team demonstrated enhancement to the Integrated Kill Chains. Their diligent work made for a successful test and showed NIFC’s expanded support for the Department of Defense’s Joint All Domain Command and Control initiative. The team includes Joshua Cole, Troy Newhart, Daisy Young and Alan Faulkner.  

Richard Fitzwater and Jason Lacey were critical members of the 4.0 Taiwan Close-in Weapon Systems (CIWS) Light-Off and Check-Out Team. The two were instrumental in completing the full installation of two MK 15 Phalanx (CIWS) aboard Taiwanese Naval vessels. The team overcame pandemic and technical hurdles to provide our most cutting-edge defensive weapons to an international ally. 

The fifteen-person Naval Sea Systems Command Red Team from NSWCDD Dam Neck Activity, conducted AGILE VIPER remotely from its Dahlgren and Virginia Beach laboratories. The operation validated the effectiveness of cyber improvements in the Aegis Combat System (ACS), assessed concerns raised in the Cyber Hazard Analysis Report, and provided critical cyber mitigation to identified risks. The event significantly improved the cybersecurity posture of the ACS and other systems. The citation reads, “The high-caliber work displayed by the team is instrumental in putting sea power in the hand of our Sailors, enabling them to complete their mission now and in the future.” The team included Sara Hart, John Jims, Christopher Keener, Valeria Bokay, Neil Carter, Derek Howard, Malik Hurt, Tyler Perdue, Franklin Pittaluga, Timothy Raidl, James Taylor, David Trick, Kristopher Walker, Justin Wasileski and Reed Williams.