An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | June 15, 2021

NSWC Dahlgren Division Senior Technical Lead Recognized for Role in AEGIS Project

By NSWCDD Corporate Communications

As you make daily decisions, you may not realize it but you are taking small steps in your life. Each step you take directly impacts your path – whether that be in life, work or relationships.

Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD) Senior Technical Lead (STL) for the AEGIS Ballistic Missile Defense legacy baselines Claiborne “Clay” Doxey could not agree more. “My career has prepared me to do this type of job: having that technical direction, working with money and working with people and customers,” he said.

Doxey graduated from Old Dominion University with a degree in computer science, later adding a master’s degree in software systems engineering from George Mason University.

His work as a computer scientist has given him a unique perspective to his role as STL in the AEGIS-Based Combat Systems Engineering and Integration Branch. His role in the project’s development, certification and delivery of specific AEGIS baselines earned him recognition as a 2021 Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientist and Engineer of the Year.

According to the award citation, “Doxey’s outstanding system engineering and integration knowledge ensure[d] continued mission accomplishment...” and his efforts have aided the U.S. Navy field a “proven and adaptable capability in the support of the nation’s security.”

“My success is due to the support of the people I work with,” said Doxey. “I am pretty honored to be receiving this award. It was unexpected.”

An awards ceremony for the 2021 Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientist and Engineer of the Year honorees will be held in a virtual and live hybrid ceremony at NSWC Carderock Division June 25.