An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | June 3, 2020

PSNS & IMF honors 33 employees, Sailors with Employee of the Year awards

By PSNS & IMF Public Affairs

BREMERTON, Washington – Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, Puget Sound Naval Shipyard & Intermediate Maintenance Facility has relied on innovation to safely complete its mission; from producing hand sanitizer and facemasks to the construction and development of hand-washing stations and biocontainment systems.

When the time came to hand out Employee of the Year awards, an annual tradition normally conducted in a large ceremony at a large venue, innovation once again proved key.

For the first time, PSNS & IMF used a website to honor 33 of its top workers and Sailors with Employee of the Year awards June 3.

The website,, celebrates the accomplishments of 31 employees and two Sailors selected from among more than 200 personnel nominated for their 2019 performance in 24 categories.

“Even though we were unable hold our normal ceremony, we still felt it was important to showcase the contributions of these great employees,” said Richard Tift, executive director of PSNS & IMF. “Having a website provided us with a way to safely do that and to have something to share with coworkers, family and friends.”

Capt. Dianna Wolfson, shipyard commander, recorded a special video message congratulating the nominees and winners.

“While this may not be the awards ceremony and event that we are used to, it doesn’t take away from the significance of this occasion,” said Wolfson. “It is a big deal, a once a year event and a once in a lifetime honor.”

Categories in which personnel were recognized include supervisors and non-supervisors in administrative, trades and technical fields as well as special categories, including innovation, safety, volunteer service, valor and a “Spirit of Compassion” award.

Those recognized were nominated by co-workers, supervisors or managers and voted upon by the shipyard’s Incentive Awards Committee.

“For all of these outstanding people, another teammate, supervisor or manager took the time to acknowledge their hard work and achievements by nominating them. And every single one of these employees deserves to be recognized,” said Wolfson.

Today, PSNS & IMF employs more than 14,000 Sailors and civilian personnel who accomplish the Command’s mission to maintain, modernize and retire the U.S. Navy’s fleet.

Honored were:

Everett Detachment Sailor of the Year

Navy Diver First Class (Diving Warfare Specialist) Nicholas Raducha

Everett Detachment Junior Sailor of the Year

Navy Diver Second Class (Diving Warfare Specialist) Dominic Cranston

Commander’s Excellence in Safety award

Domingo Ceralde (manager) and Ashley Lanman

Administrative, Clerical and Support Services, GS-10 or equivalent and below

Ashley Florez

Administrative and Support Services, GS-11 or equivalent and above

Pamela Hughes and Joseph Trent

Administrative Managerial/Supervisory, (non-engineering, non-trade)

Kellie Randall

Engineering Managerial/Supervisory

Matthew Conrath

Trades & Craft - Structural (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above

Joshua Smestad

Trades & Craft - Mechanical (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above

Makyla Olson

Trades & Craft - Electrical (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above

Joshua Neumann

Trades & Craft - Service (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above

Matthew Miller

Trades & Craft - Structural (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below

Jake Kusman

Trades & Craft - Mechanical (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below

Gage Ody

Trades & Craft - Electrical (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below

James Wilson

Trades & Craft - Service (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below

Michael York

Trades Supervisor (foreman)

Ian Fleming and Tymothy Noles

Managerial Supervisor - Trades/Project (2nd-level or above)

Jonathan Ebdon and Melissa Kittrell

Engineering/Professional - Waterfront Support (degreed or equivalent)

John Burcham III and Michael Wheeler

Engineering/Professional – Planning/Indirect Support (degreed or equivalent)

Jerry Nahring and Sydney Wells


Deborah Clary and Timothy Hugg

Technical/Professional (non-engineering, non-supervisory)

Kevin Hasegawa

Vision/Innovation Award

Justin Hike and Brandon Rottle


Steven Denton

Outstanding Volunteer Services

Alanzo Ausby

Spirit of Compassion

Cassandra Pruitt