An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | June 6, 2019

Dr. Delores M. Etter Award Recognizes NSWC Dahlgren Division’s Top Scientists and Engineers

By NSWCDD Corporate Communications

DAHLGREN, Va. – Four Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD) government employees received a top Department of the Navy science and engineering award, NSWCDD officials announced June 6. 

The Navy named the awardees – Dr. John Lundberg, Dennis Larsen, Myron ‘Lyn’ Thomas, and Dr. Christopher Lloyd – as recipients of the 2018 Assistant Secretary of the Navy Research, Development and Acquisition Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers of the Year Award.

Moreover, the Submarine Mast Broadband Antenna Team – comprising scientists and engineers from NSWCDD Dam Neck Activity, Naval Undersea Warfare Center Newport, and Naval Information Warfare Center Pacific – won the Etter Award in its group category.

“Each of you should be very proud, as we are, of your accomplishments and dedication,” NSWCDD Technical Director John Fiore wrote in an all hands email, commending the awardees for putting the command’s values into practice while delivering remarkable capability. “Your exceptional contributions and hard work contribute to maintaining technological superiority for our Sailors and Marines and to our nation's security. Thank you for a job well done.”

The Navy honored individual and team awardees for exceptional scientific and engineering achievements completed during or culminating in the 2018 calendar year.

The Etter Award is presented annually in June to scientists and engineers who have clearly demonstrated a superior accomplishment that is technically outstanding and highly beneficial operationally to the Department of the Navy, Department of Defense, and national defense. The selection process is highly competitive and each submission impressively demonstrated high levels of professionalism and scientific and engineering achievement.

Lundberg was honored for his technical support of the on board checkout of the next generation, state-of-the-art Global Positioning System III satellite.

“Dr. Lundberg spearheaded the algorithm development and testing of the capabilities to support processing of the next generation, state-of-the-art Global Positioning System (GPS) III satellite,” according to the citation. “This new generation of satellites will provide modernized signals that will deliver improved safety, security, integrity, and jamming resistance to the vast number of GPS receivers in the Fleet currently providing critical position and timing information to a wide array of naval systems. Due in part to Dr. Lundberg's technical leadership, the first GPS III was successfully launched and transitioned to early on-orbit checkout.”

Larsen was recognized for his leadership in the engineering, planning, and execution of the successful Virtual Twin Concept demonstration aboard the USS Arleigh Burke (DDG 51) in 2018.

“This successful virtualization effort has set the groundwork for expanding the Virtual Twin to essentially transform every U.S. Navy ship into a unique test environment, enhancing data capture and analysis, and allowing for rapid testing and introduction of new technological capabilities to the warfighter,” according to Larsen’s citation.

Thomas was commended for successfully designing and testing the first discarding sabot Hyper Velocity Projectile (HVP) launch packages for several different gun system platforms.

“His groundbreaking technology has significantly advanced not only the Navy's capability in gunnery expertise, but will also serve a benefit across all services,” according to Thomas’s citation. “His cross-functional model will ultimately lead to cost savings, implementing a common design across multiple platforms. His contributions directly impact the future of Department of the Navy operations, advancing the High Velocity Projectile technology even closer to a fielded capability for the warfighter.”

“I am honored to receive this award as an individual but it would be improper to accept it without recognizing the contribution of the entire NSWC Dahlgren HVP team,” said Thomas. “Our collective effort has demonstrated the feasibility of utilizing gun-launched guided projectiles for multiple missions of interest to the U.S. Navy.”

Lloyd was honored for his notable accomplishments across the High Energy Laser Lethality Portfolio.

“Dr. Lloyd developed and executed various strategies that allows the weapon developers to understand laser interactions and lethality against various materials, system components and threats,” according to the citation. “Dr. Lloyd's impacts continue to enhance naval and Department of Defense capabilities and he is prominently recognized across the Directed Energy community as a leading subject matter expert in the area of laser lethality.”

“First and foremost I would like to say that I am extremely honored to have been nominated and awarded such a prestigious award,” said Lloyd. “With all the great work being performed across the Naval Enterprise and the great people doing that work, it is very humbling to accept the Dr. Delores M. Etter Award. As with many individual awards, the team behind the individual deserve a lot of credit.” 

Lloyd cited the NSWCDD High Energy Laser (HEL) Lethality team in the HEL Technology and Analysis Branch and the Lethality and Effectiveness Branch as well as lethality team members in the other services.

“They consistently delivered key laser lethality products that have without question influenced the Navy’s approach to fielding HEL weapon systems,” said Lloyd. “I would like to personally thank Mr. Bryan Knott for his technical experience over the years and for assisting me with bringing together such a great team of HEL scientists and engineers. I would like to thank my branch and division Heads, Ms. Karen Smith and Ms. Robin Lacy, for nominating me for this award. And lastly, much thanks to the Navy HEL Lethality team, who continue to set the standard for providing the critical information required to field cutting edge Navy technology.”