Home : Media : News : Saved News Module

Secretary of the Navy Names Safety Excellence Award Winners - NSWC Dahlgren Division Commended for "Safety Integration in Acquisition"

By NSWC Dahlgren Division Corporate Communications | July 7, 2014

WASHINGTON -- Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus announced that the System Safety Engineering Division team at Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD) is one of his 2014 Safety Excellence Award recipients.

The NSWCDD team - among 18 winners spanning seven categories - represented the Safety Integration in Acquisition Award category, according to a July 1 press release issued by the deputy assistant secretary of the Navy for safety public affairs.

"This award recognizes many years of hard work, dedication, and innovation in the field of system safety," said Andy Knott, acting deputy NSWCDD Engagement Systems Department head.

The Secretary of the Navy's Safety Excellence Awards - created to showcase Navy and Marine Corps commands that exemplify exceptional and sustained safety excellence - recongizes commands and programs that have gone above and beyond normal duties to ensure the safety of Sailors, Marines, civilians, and resources.

The Safety Integration in Acquisition Award category commends teams with an acquisition mission that made a significant impact by integrating safety into their programs, projects or systems.

"The Systems Safety Engineering Division at NSWCDD has been on the cutting edge for developing and advancing system safety engineering practices, processes and methodologies for decades," said Melissa Lederer, NSWCDD Systems Safety Engineering Division head. "As an organization we have been forward focused in developing new and innovative approaches to system safety engineering for systems of systems and new and emergent technologies."

On the horizon at NSWC Dahlgren Division are integration and interoperability safety, and the application of system safety within a mission engineering approach.

"The strategic planning and innovative approaches implemented within the organization are expected to facilitate new methods as we engage in these advanced disciplinary concepts," said Lederer. "It is this forward looking approach and proactivity in advancing the discipline which distinguishes the Systems Safety Engineering Division as the premier U.S. Navy safety organization for acquisition programs and demonstrates our strong practice of advancing the culture of robust system safety engineering practices and their integration within acquisition."

NSWCDD systems safety engineers ensure naval guns, ammunition, and gun barrels headed for the fleet are safe and effective. Moreover, they oversee the safe development and testing of new weapons from the electromagnetic railgun to the laser weapons system in addition to testing of new types of ammunition, such as reactive materials.

In addition to NSWCDD, the Secretary of the Navy's Safety Excellence Awards winners for 2014 are:

For the Industrial Awards category, which includes shipyards, shore intermediate maintenance activities, regional maintenance centers, ordnance stations, public works centers, depots, and logistics bases:

* For a working population of less than 1,000: Marine Corps Support Facility Blount Island, Blount Island Command, Florida
* For a working population of 3,001 or greater: Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Virginia

For the Non-Industrial Awards category, which includes stations, bases, training facilities, research and development laboratories, and Navy medicine facilities:

* For a working population of less than 1,000: Naval Support Activity Monterey, California
* For a working population of 1,001 to 3,000: Marine Corps Logistics Base Barstow, California
* For a working population of 3,001 or greater: Marine Corps Installations-East Marine Corps Base, Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

For the Fleet Operational and Fleet Support Award category, which includes deployable units located ashore not eligible for ship or aviation safety awards:

* Marine Corps Engineer School, Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

For the Afloat Awards category, which includes commissioned afloat Navy units and civil service manned ships:

* For Large Deck: USS Boxer (LHD 4)
* For Surface Combatant: USS Mobile Bay (CG 53)
* For Amphibious: USS San Antonio (LPD 17)
* For Submarine: USS Texas (SSN 775)
* For Auxiliary: USS Emory S. Land (AS 39)

For the Aviation Awards category, which includes active duty and Reserve units operating under aircraft controlling custodians:

* For Navy Active Duty: Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light 49 (HSL-49)
* For Marine Corps Active Duty: Marine Aerial Refueler Transport Squadron 252 (VMGR-252)
* For Navy Reserve: Fleet Logistics Support Squadron 58 (VR-58)
* For Marine Corps Reserve: Marine Fighter Attack Squadron 112 (VMFA-112)
* For Training: Training Squadron 21 (VT-21)

For the Emerging Center of Excellence Award category, which recognizes exceptional promise for future safety excellence leadership:

* Mishap Investigation Training and Support Implementation Team, Marine Corps Systems Command, Virginia

The awards winners will receive a plaque, citation, and the Secretary of the Navy's Safety Excellence flag, as well as the honor of flying the Safety Excellence flag for one year.