Home : Media : News : Saved News Module

NAVSEA earns 7 of 13 acquisition awards

By Naval Sea Systems Command Office of Corporate Communication | Nov. 18, 2016

WASHINGTON -- Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Research, Development and Acquisition) Sean Stackley presented Naval Sea Systems Command’s Mike Gutermuth the Rear Admiral Wayne E. Meyer Memorial Award during the 2016 Department of the Navy Acquisition Excellence Awards at the Pentagon, Nov. 17.

NAVSEA employees received an additional six of the 13 acquisition awards presented.

"You and your many counterparts across the acquisition workforce place the finest ships, aircraft, weapon systems, vehicles, sensors and equipment into the hands of our Sailors and Marines," said Stackley.

Before reading the citation for this year's recipient, Stackley recognized all previous winners for their important contributions to the Navy, what the award embodies and why these individuals are recognized.

Gutermuth, Naval Sea Systems Command director of shipbuilding contracts, earned the award for his leadership and contracting expertise resulting in effective, innovative acquisition strategies, including the negotiation and contract award for the construction of 10 Virginia Class submarines, the U.S. Navy's largest-ever shipbuilding contract, saving nearly $2 billion.

The RADM Wayne E. Meyer Award, the most prestigious of the Department of the Navy Acquisition Excellence awards, recognizes a DON individual who exemplifies the highest examples of acquisition excellence and whose achievement brings significant credit to the DON acquisition community.

"I could not be more proud of all of our recipients and the work they have done on behalf of the Navy," said Vice Adm. Tom Moore, NAVSEA’s Commander. "I’ve said it before, NAVSEA is the force behind the Fleet and our earning more than half of the Acquisition Excellence Awards proves that point," he concluded.

Additional NAVSEA awardees:

Program Manager of the Year: Capt. Michael Ladner, Program Executive Office Integrated Warfare Systems

Acquisition Professional of the Year: Carrie Bender, Naval Undersea Warfare Center Keyport Division

Field Acquisition Activity Award: Supervisor of Shipbuilding Gulf Coast

Competition Excellence Acquisition Team of the Year: LHA 8 Affordability Team, Amphibious Warfare Program Office, Program Executive Office Ships

Office of Small Business Programs Oreta B. Stinson Small Business Advocate Award: Evan Littig, deputy program manager, Surface Ship Modernization

Small Business Team Award: Multiple Award Contract-Multi-Option Acquisition Team, Surface Ship Modernization

"We have been at the forefront, bringing to bear innovation and perspiration; which is why we are here today—to recognize those who have distinguished themselves amongst the tens of thousands who are equally committed to ensuring that our Navy and Marine Corps is the most capable fighting force in the world," said Stackley.