An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Article View
NEWS | Aug. 16, 2022

NSWC PCD personnel receive NAVSEA Warfare Centers Awards

By Jeremy Roman, NSWC PCD Public Affairs

Naval Surface Warfare Center Panama City Division (NSWC PCD) received eight 2022 Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA) Warfare Centers Awards selections.

Through commitment and dedication, one individual and 64 team members from NSWC PCD were recognized for their contributions towards providing advanced warfighting capability to the fleet and delivering relevant and innovative solutions for combat-ready ships, submarines, and systems.

“These teams and individuals have significantly impacted the warfighter and future naval capabilities through their technical expertise, innovation, and collaboration,” said Capt. David Back, NSWC PCD commanding officer. “Though it is hard to summarize the widespread impact their contributions have, each nominee presented to the selection board personifies our goal to shape, strengthen and expand the Naval Research and Development Enterprise across the Fleet. I am extremely proud of our deserving people and their One Team accomplishments.”

Technical Support Services Award

Clyde (Doug) Brown, NSWC PCD Air Cushioned Vehicle Propulsion and Lift subject matter expert, was recognized for his outstanding work supporting the Landing Craft Air Cushion 100 program. Through his innovation in balancing equipment and procedures, he modified a commercial-off-the-shelf solution to reduce balancing evolution time by 40 percent and streamline the training and interoperability processes to apply to all platforms.

John C. Mickey Award for Collaboration - The Rapid Prototyping and Experimental Unmanned Systems

Patrick Amy

Brian Eckert

April Hirsch

Drew Lucas

Melanie MacBain

Cameron Matthews

Connor McCoy-Mickelson

Brian Wallace


This team represented NSWC PCD’s contributions in concert with Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock and Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC) Division Keyport and NUWC Division Newport. Their efforts resulted in the successful integration, implementation, and operations testing of various unmanned system payloads.

John C. Mickey Award for Collaboration - The Barracuda Team

Mary Atchinson

James Carter

Alfredo Granado

Richard Hayward

Katherine Maglio

Jeremiah Mandello

Nathan Mauntler

Maynor Pinell

Brian Pridgen

Tanner Reynolds

Jose Rivas

Alexander Spotswood

Samantha Tritt



This team won for successful collaboration across NSWC Carderock, NSWC Indian Head, NUWC Newport, and NSWC Philadelphia Divisions. The team is comprised of scientists and engineers from seven organizations, four of which are warfare centers.

John C. Mickey Award for Collaboration - The Precise Integrated Navigation System In-Service Engineering Agent Team

Jay Atkins

Daniel Beech

Sharon Brakey

Brian Brock

Cynthia Davis

Joshua Everett

Natasha Gabreleski

Zachary Goldsmith

Michelle Henderson

Joshua Jordan

Pedro Lopez

Chris Meunier

Jose Ortiz

Dustin Pilcher

Demarkis Pope



This team successfully completed a full hardware and software upgrade, in cooperation with the NSWC Philadelphia Division. The team embodied the One Team mantra resulting in collaborative efforts across NSWC Panama City and NSWC Philadelphia that created a best value end product for the U.S. Navy.

John C. Mickey Award for Collaboration - The Surface-to-Surface Mission Module Cross-Deck Team

Luis Araiza and Tim Lawler represented the NSWC PCD collaborative effort teaming with the NSWC Dahlgren and NSWC Port Hueneme Divisions to complete the first cross-deck move of a Mission Module on the Littoral Combat Ship Class.

The Knowledge Sharing Award - The Research Commons Team

Adelle Singer, NSWC PCD technical librarian, supported the team’s innovative digital library that provides knowledge management resources and tools to more than 4,000 researchers across the Department of the Navy and Department of Defense saving more than $6 million dollars across the participating commands.

Technical Support Services Award - Panama City's Air Cushion Vehicle Foreign Military Sales Command, Control, Communications, Computers and Navigation Team

William Buffkin

Mike Campbell

John Carlin

Bill Chong

Sherri Enright

Randy Martin

David Mercer

Erik Muldowny

Steven Naud

David Ray

Joseph Speed

Fred Thornburg

Matthew Wadle

Amanda Weber

Robert Woodall

Doug Yager


This team was recognized for their continued growth success (growing from $70k to $22M+) and innovative solutions to provide extraordinary performance. This team's contributions have directly impacted the military capabilities of two valuable allies to the United States.


The Technical Support Services Award - Panama City's Joint Expeditionary Command and Control Cybersecurity (JEXC2) Team

Nick Horn

An-Thinh Le

Bryan Naranjo

Mike Overend

Shawn Plachte

Corterris Richmond

Tommy Roland

Jordan Smith


This team won for executing and achieving the three pillars of cybersecurity: operations, compliance, and assurance valued at $320 million dollars, supporting more than 3,000 users.

This year’s 144 nominations represent the calendar year 2021 accomplishments of 1,094 members throughout the Naval Surface and Undersea Warfare Center enterprise. Established in 2005, the Warfare Centers Awards program recognizes exceptional employee achievements in the talent management, information security, innovation, collaboration, knowledge sharing and technical support services. Nominations were reviewed and ranked against the award criteria by a three-member executive Senior Executive Service panel.