An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Saved News Module
NEWS | June 26, 2018

Shipyard honors employees for long years of service

By PSNS & IMF Public Affairs

Puget Sound Naval Shipyard & Intermediate Maintenance Facility formally recognized 13 employees for their years working for the government, including one with more than 50 years of combined military and civilian federal service.


Captain Kenneth Shepard, acting commander and the shipyard’s business and strategic planning officer commander, presented length of service pins and certificates signed by Navy Secretary Richard V. Spencer to six employees, all of whom had at least 40 years of federal service, during a June 19 ceremony at the shipyard’s auditorium. The remainder of the honorees received their awards separately.


Among the recipients was Reynaldo Zaragoza, who began his federal service with the Navy in February 1965. Zaragoza retired from the Navy in April 1988 and joined the shipyard team in October of that year. He is now a planner for aircraft carrier projects.


Recognized for their service were:


Timothy Ellis of the Submarine Project Engineering and Planning Division, 40 years.

Forrest Early of the Structural Engineering and Planning Division; 40 years.

Brian Truesdale of the Operational Planning Division, 40 years.

Charles Carston of the Aircraft Carrier Program Office, 40 years.

Laurence Price of the Lifting and Handling Inspection, Test, Quality Assurance and Training Division, 40 years.

Michael Petcu of the Crane Maintenance Division, 40 years.

Thomas Moore of the Lifting and Handling Operations Division, 40 years.

Tommie Fitch of the Inside Machine Shop, 40 years.

Robert Bell of the Electronics Shop, 40 years.

David Mitchell of the Emergency Planning Division, 40 years.

John Schultz of the Radiological Support Division, 45 years.

Michael Fortner of the Control Engineering Division, 45 years.

Reynaldo Zaragoza of the Production Support Division, 50 years.


A federal length of service award recognizes employees for their total years in the federal government, including all military service and civilian work in any department of the U.S. government.