An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Article View
NEWS | April 16, 2024

Annual command award ceremony recognizes top one percent of workforce

By Cierra Burch, NSWC PCD Public Affairs

Each year, the Naval Surface Warfare Center Panama City Division (NSWC PCD) hosts the Commanding Officer (CO) and Technical Director’s (TD) Annual Awards ceremony. This year’s event included 15 Annual Awards, one Navy Civilian Service Meritorious Award, and recognition of three patents acquired in fiscal year 2023.

The annual awards program epitomizes the best the command has to offer. Through their technical innovation and business excellence, NSWC PCD personnel continue to raise the bar each year.

“As the force behind the fleet, wartime readiness demands that we give our best to ensure that the military force is ready to fight, can meet the demands of national defense strategies, and is properly trained and supported to complete their wartime tasks at any time,” said Capt. David Back, NSWC PCD CO. “This awards ceremony showcases an in-depth look at everything our PCD team is doing to deliver reliable warfighting capability to our sailors and marines.”

The first Annual Award Ceremony was held in 1975 where three individuals – Dr. Douglas Humphreys, Cmdr. Dave Humphreys, and Orman Holley—were recognized for Special Achievement. The awards program continues that legacy by recognizing the top accomplishments within the span of only one year and this year featured seven team and eight individual awards, including an NSWC PCD Hall of Fame inductee.

The Hall of Fame Award is one of the most prestigious command awards, presented to one individual who has retired at least five years before nomination, whose contributions to the workforce and warfighter has had a lasting impact that is felt to this day. Dave Tubridy, former leader at NSWC PCD, was selected to receive this year’s honor.

“Being nominated for, even more so selected for, NSWC PCD’s Hall of Fame is truly a great honor for me,” said Tubridy. “I am humbled to be included with such an esteemed group of talented people. I really loved my time working at the Lab so much and look forward to reading about the future accomplishments of the command.”

Of the 57 nominations placed, a total of 98 individuals were selected to win an annual award this year, which is less than one percent of the workforce.

“I am proud of all the accomplishments presented here today, which represent a small fraction of all the impressive efforts that the entire workforce does at our Navy lab on a daily basis,” said Dr. Peter Adair, NSWC PCD TD. “Many of the guiding principles of our Panama City Division Strategic Plan are epitomized here, and this is crucial because it ensures that the technologies and services that we deliver are operationally relevant and significant to the Navy’s warfighters.”


The 2023 Annual Awards ceremony recognized the following recipients:

Dave TubridyHall of Fame

Lori HilgenbergBusiness Excellence

William CoffmanCareer Achievement

Ship-to-Shore Connector Ship Interface Test TeamCollaboration Excellence

Thomas FanningDr. David P. Skinner Outstanding Science and Engineering

Funding Allocated to Locally Controlled Networks TeamExcellence in Business Innovation

Coastal Test Range TeamExceptional Technical Support

Donald Wittkopf Exemplary Leadership

Dr. Ivan Rodriquez-PintoNew Employee Exceptional Achievement

In-Service Mines Project TeamOutstanding Fleet Support

Air Cushion Vehicle Model-Based Product Development TeamOutstanding Innovation

Joe RenellaOutstanding Organizational Support

Adaptive Persistent Awareness Systems Counter Unmanned Aircraft Systems TeamOutstanding Program Success

Hawkeye Expeditionary Launch Module TeamOutstanding Team Achievement

Charles DillinghamTechnical Excellence

Scott DorschNavy Civilian Service Meritorious Award

Demetrius Kutzke, Gustavo Miranda Lopez, and Robert Herman, Release Systema Tether Line Patent (Miranda Lopez and Herman became NSWC PCD Inventors Society inductees)

Dr. Joshua Kogot and April HirschBiodegradable Microphone Patent

Michael KoboldMethod of Collecting Field-Based Data to Reduce Collected-Data Error Patent