An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News : Article View
NEWS | June 22, 2023

NAVSEA Scientists and Engineers Recognized for Excellence

By Naval Sea Systems Command Office of Corporate Communications

WASHINGTON – Scientists and engineers across the Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA) enterprise were recognized as Dr. Delores M. Etter award recipients during a ceremony held June 15 at the Pentagon. NAVSEA individuals and groups claimed nine of the 27 total awards that recognize scientific and technical excellence in support of our nation’s defense.  

The awards were  established in honor of Dr. Etter who served from 1998 to 2001 as the United States Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Science and Technology and from 2005 to 2007 as the Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development, and Acquisition.

During the ceremony Dr. Etter delivered a recorded message congratulating the recipients, encouraging all Department of the Navy scientists and engineers to continue pursuing innovations that support America’s fleet and warfighters; and to encourage future generations of engineers and scientists to pursue positions in the Navy.

NAVSEA recipients of the 2023 Dr. Delores M. Etter Top Scientists and Engineers of the Year Awards include: ​



  • Mr. David I. Foster, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division

Developed the baseline Acoustic Trials Measurement System 4 noise-floor requirements, supporting acoustic signature evaluation of the Navy’s newest ballistic missile submarine, the future USS District of Columbia (SSBN 826).



  • Ms. Victoria L. Kelly, Program Executive Office (PEO) Integrated Warfare Systems

Led the integration, testing, and installation of AEGIS Baseline 10.0 which interfaces with the Navy’s most advanced radar, to provide an integrated combat system for Arleigh Burke-class Flight III destroyers.


  • Cmdr. Robert J. Smith, PEO Integrated Warfare Systems

Integrated the Navy’s most advanced ship radar system with a new combat system baseline and upgraded ship hull, mechanical, and electrical systems.



  • Dr. Keegan P. Delaney, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division

Advanced predictive signature technology and the development of novel tools within the Navy.


  • Dr. Richard D. Tatum, Naval Surface Warfare Center Panama City Division

Developed mathematical theory and selection approach to design advanced autonomous systems.



Atlantic Thunder 22 Hulk Data & Battle Damage Assess, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division

  • Dr. Ken F. Nahshon

  • Mr. Michael A. Kipp

Ensured the success of the inaugural U.S. Sixth Fleet Sink Exercise.


South Tongue of the Ocean Acoustic Facility - Acoustic Measurement Facilities Improvement Program Design Team, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division

  • Mr. Keith J. Hertel

  • Mr. Craig A. Nielsen

  • Mr. Todd A. Eklund

  • Mrs. Teresa Dukek

  • Mrs. Lilimar A. Ruhlmann

Developed an acoustic signature measurement system with capabilities in greater magnitude than current technology.


Cross-Doman Autonomy and Sensing Team, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division

  • Dr. Matthew B. Greytak

  • Mr. Benjamin C. Gordon

Collaborated to deploy a state-of-the-art laser imaging sensor using unmanned, autonomous platforms.


Electronic Warfare Adaptive Training, Naval Undersea Warfare Center Newport Division

  • Mrs. Alice E. Henry

Developed and successfully integrated the Electronic Warfare Adaptive Trainer into the BLQ-10 submarine electronic warfare support system to provide an on-board training system for submarine electronic warfare operators.


Civilian and military scientists and engineers from the Navy are eligible for this annual award. They are selected for this award based on their accomplishments from the award year and how beneficial their achievements are to the Department of the Navy, Department of Defense, and National Defense.